top of page

Illness, writing & work, oh my!


A friend recently asked me how I'm doing. I answered I am good! I am, as a person, emotionally, physically & spiritually sound, so that isn't a lie. I'm a strong person. Not much of a cryer or whiner, by any means. I'm more of a 'stress until I'm too sick to eat, but somehow still kick ass in every field of life' kind of person. Okay, sometimes I slip and forget important times/events, and forget to actually communicate with anyone outside of my immediate family. But that's to be expected when you're a busy, working mom of 3, who also is a writer!!! That being said, all ISN'T good. Right after being asked that, my youngest came to me and said she felt sick, AGAIN. In fact as I type this, I'm sitting beside my youngest daughter who most likely has the flu and I'm going to have to miss more work. One thing you'll need to know about me. My children are sick ALL THE TIME. They each have their own set of problems and for length & privacy's sake I'm not going to name them all.

We have other things to get to.

But yes, the kids being constantly sick can put a damper on me and my husband. With all the constant doctor visits, and medical bills. Not to mention, you should see our medicine cabinet, it's like a pharmacy. We are drained. But we soldier on, as parents must do.

There's also been a lot going on for us work wise, that may mean some big changes for us. Man, oh, man if it hasn't thrown us for a loop!

Then there's my author world that I so desperately try to keep up with. Writing is my saving grace in the hectic-ness of my life. I don't have a therapist, nor can I afford one. So if you begin to notice my writing leaning to the darker side, don't be surprised. I take my frustrations out on my characters. But I slip as an author as well. I still have 2 book series to tie up and it's taking me years!!! I won't even begin to talk about my other projects...there are many. Then there's the simple fact that I have just realized that I haven't ever included an acknowledgment section in any of my books! What the actual shit?!?

I know I'm too hard on myself, and people have told me just as much. I hold myself to the highest standards and torture myself for months over simple faults. But I think all moms and perfectionists do the same.

All of this does happen to leave me and my husband sometimes, at the end of the day, reeling with the feeling of 'when will we get a break?'

We don't get a break. We're adults. And parents. Young ones at that! Our oldest daughter is going to graduate next year! I'll be 35! We're preparing to send her off to college. Try to wrap your head around that! (P.S. One day I'm going to write a post about my experiences as a teen mom. You won't want to miss it!)

That being said. I'm here. I'm alive. In the words of my parents 'I'm too blessed to be depressed.' I'll be rolling with the punches as always.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time!

Kathey


bottom of page